Club Freestyle

Go Back   Club Freestyle - The Freestyle Dance Music Authority > Freestyle Dance Music Charts, Reviews, Marketplace and more... > DJ Info / Voice/ Singing / Technical / Production

Notices

DJ Info / Voice/ Singing / Technical / Production DJ forum, Technical and Production issues.


Freestyle Forum: recording gear
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-14-2004, 11:38 PM
crazydee crazydee is offline
New To CF
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 25
crazydee
recording gear

Well, I was just about to pick me up a m-box and my friend is offering to sell me is YAMAHA AW16G for $600. m-box goes for a lil over $400. which should I get? And a question in recording in general. I made all my songs on my triton le. so when I go to record it in say the yamaha or pro tools, i would go midi outof keyboard to midi in of watever I decide to use. My question is my songs on the triton are 16 tracks, so will it come up as 16 tracks on the recorder? ok maybe I don't make sense cause I'm new to this. If anyone can give me a basic rundown on how getting songs from my keyboard onto cd works. thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 04-15-2004, 01:07 AM
YOUNG MEGATRON YOUNG MEGATRON is offline
CF Senior Freestyler
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: DA 559,408,650,415,510
Age: 40
Posts: 1,512
YOUNG MEGATRON is on a distinguished road
My Brother got the M-box , The Triton Le, and Pro Tools. His shits on point. dude you all ready have your stuff sequenced in the triton. so you really dont need much . you can even get like a Hard recorder with a built in burner .. like the the roland vs series for like a grand. and just dump your tracks on that in the order of sequence you want and then just lay the vocals and burn. Or you can buy any software and do the same thing. But all Gear reads each other through midi so you wont have any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2004, 01:39 AM
davetheonemendez davetheonemendez is offline
CF Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 144
davetheonemendez is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydee
Well, I was just about to pick me up a m-box and my friend is offering to sell me is YAMAHA AW16G for $600. m-box goes for a lil over $400. which should I get? And a question in recording in general. I made all my songs on my triton le. so when I go to record it in say the yamaha or pro tools, i would go midi outof keyboard to midi in of watever I decide to use. My question is my songs on the triton are 16 tracks, so will it come up as 16 tracks on the recorder? ok maybe I don't make sense cause I'm new to this. If anyone can give me a basic rundown on how getting songs from my keyboard onto cd works. thanks.
You have 16 tracks on your triton but if i'm not mistaken you only have four individual outputs and a stereo output. Most Gear is set up this way; there are options that allow for 8 to 16 digital outputs via adat litepipe.
So you have to bus tracks; send them to the same outputs on some channels to get them onto your hard disk recorder or tape machine.

Wow; you have a very tough choice with the Maudio and the aw16g; the aw16g is a great machine; and has enough inputs for your tritons outputs (six) there's a cd burner included; no need for a computer. The effects section is robust too. Yamah is well known for build and quality.
The computer is a powerul tool and limitless depending on how you have it configured. With pci cards and firewire solutions you can have a serious professional 24 - 48 track studio. Pro Tools users have been doing this for years. We now have mammoth storage options (hard drives are bigger) and insane processing speed (pentium 4 3.2 ghz and powerpc g5) do remember that we had pro tools 24 mix systems on g3's and g4's and many hits are still made on those old (by todays standsards) configurations.
If you have the pc; I'd go with the maudio; you can expand from there and get a sound card with more input output capability and use any program from that point. If you hate computers; yamaha is hands down the solution.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2004, 09:43 AM
sietzsounds's Avatar
sietzsounds sietzsounds is offline
CF Senior Freestyler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Staten Island
Age: 48
Posts: 6,104
sietzsounds is on a distinguished road
I'm not familiar with the Triton LE... is there a way u can save a song as a midi file to a disk.... cause then u can "import midi" right to protools.... also u should be able to sync the Triton to protools via midi so when u hit play on protools, Triton runs in sync.
__________________
MYSPACE
:dj
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2004, 05:37 PM
crazydee crazydee is offline
New To CF
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 25
crazydee
yes, i can save my midi data onto a smart media card and buy an adapter to import them to my computer. still a hard choice. i've read that its recomended to have another hard drive if using pro tools thats at least 30gb from reading stuff on their site. so thats extra money to be spent for me. which of the 2 routes is easiest to use?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2004, 07:37 PM
sietzsounds's Avatar
sietzsounds sietzsounds is offline
CF Senior Freestyler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Staten Island
Age: 48
Posts: 6,104
sietzsounds is on a distinguished road
well you're gonna need a drive that big anyway to store your audio files. Synching protools & triton should be an ok way of running the system.
__________________
MYSPACE
:dj
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2004, 05:28 PM
DOS Records DOS Records is offline
CF Freestyler
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Long Isl N.Y.
Age: 48
Posts: 437
DOS Records has a little shameless behaviour in the past
i'de go with the mbox, and anotehr hard drive, together it will be about 600 and wikll be a much better choice than the yamaha station, u can easily dump your 16 tracks from your triton into your protools and still have trax for vocals and even mnore triton trax, ust get a lil 1x1 usb midi interface for a cool 35 bux and you are in business. Don't forget, u can eventually get reason or another pc based system and just import it to protools, your possibilities are endless with the mbox/harddrive combo.
__________________
check us out at DOSrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:10 PM
HEARTHROBDJ95's Avatar
HEARTHROBDJ95 HEARTHROBDJ95 is offline
CF Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CHICAGO
Age: 39
Posts: 253
HEARTHROBDJ95
I think everyone should use cool edit pro, I think thats the best and easiest to use!!!
__________________
*DJ DESTINY*www.energeticsounds.com for Freestyle and Classics mixes - DJDESTINY95 ON AIM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:17 PM
DOS Records DOS Records is offline
CF Freestyler
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Long Isl N.Y.
Age: 48
Posts: 437
DOS Records has a little shameless behaviour in the past
cool edit is not a wise suggestion for anyone who wants to be serious in this biz
__________________
check us out at DOSrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:23 PM
HEARTHROBDJ95's Avatar
HEARTHROBDJ95 HEARTHROBDJ95 is offline
CF Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CHICAGO
Age: 39
Posts: 253
HEARTHROBDJ95
Quote:
Originally Posted by DOS Records
cool edit is not a wise suggestion for anyone who wants to be serious in this biz
I use it to make mix cd's and it works fine for me. And I'm serious about it.
__________________
*DJ DESTINY*www.energeticsounds.com for Freestyle and Classics mixes - DJDESTINY95 ON AIM
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:57 PM
Angelino's Avatar
Angelino Angelino is offline
Recording / Performing Artist * VIP Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago IL, San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 2,739
Angelino is on a distinguished road
I Bought A Cd Burner(sony) And I'm Having A Lot Of Trouble Recorging. Once I Finish Recording Everything I Finalize It And I'm Ready To Go, But In The Middle Of The Cd It Sounds Like There A Lot Of Air And Static. Can Anyone Please Help Me.............
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:50 AM
Mysterious Darkness Mysterious Darkness is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 41
Posts: 1,217
Mysterious Darkness is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by HEARTHROBDJ95
I use it to make mix cd's and it works fine for me. And I'm serious about it.
You got to realize something. Veterans, and Has-been's believe in being old fashioned. I say it's all about the quality and not what you use.

Cool Edit is a fine choice btw.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
gear, recording

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.